Right On Crime Executive Director Brett Tolman was named the only non-legislator member to the House Interim Study Committee on Criminal Justice Reform.  This incredible honor was proclaimed by Texas House Speaker Dade Phelan as he charged the new committee to examine Texas’ bail system, policing, criminal procedure, juvenile justice and reentry.

“It’s a great honor to serve on this interim committee as we examine Texas’ criminal justice policy that reduces recidivism and promotes public safety in our communities,” said Tolman. “I want to thank Speaker Phelan for his commitment and leadership in prioritizing criminal justice issues as we look ahead to the 88th legislative session in Texas.”

Prior to the next legislative session, the committee will examine all elements of state policy that influence intakes and outcomes of the Texas criminal justice system and the group will make recommendations to protect the safety of all Texans’ constitutional rights to due process of law.

Speaker Phelan’s charges to the committee include:

  • Monitor the implementation of the Damon Allen Law (SB6)
  • Criminal Procedure and due process
  • Level of transparency in policing and prosecution
  • Appropriate age range for the juvenile justice system and parole eligibility
  • Reduce recidivism and remove barriers for reentry.

Other members of the House Interim Study Committee on Criminal Justice Reform include Chairman Rep. Jeff Leach; Vice Chairman Rep. Joe Moody; Rep. Rhetta Andrews Bowers; Rep. Brad Buckley; Rep. Angie Chen Button; Rep. David Cook; Rep. Cole Hefner; Eddie Morales; Rep. Reggie Smith; Rep. Senfronia Thompson.